IACIS Certified Mobile Device Examiner

The IACIS Certified Mobile Device Examiner (ICMDE) program is administered by the IACIS Advanced Certification Subcommittee. The ICMDE Certification is drawn from a set of competencies approved by several committees and the IACIS board of directors.

The ICMDE Certification Program consists of two distinct stages: written and practical examinations, with an allocated time limit of 24 hours each.

The written examination assesses the candidate’s knowledge of the ICMDE competencies. Although this exam is not proctored and permits open-book consultation, it must be completed in a single 24-hour period once begun, with no allowance for pausing the timing.

The practical examination, also conducted within a 24-hour timeframe, allows candidates to demonstrate their hands-on skills and application of knowledge in a practical setting.

Both examinations can be accessed and taken at any suitable location the candidate chooses, provided a stable and reliable high-speed Internet connection exists. The structure of the ICMDE Certification Program ensures a comprehensive assessment of the candidates’ abilities, balancing theoretical understanding with practical expertise, all within a carefully managed and timed framework.

The written exam consists of questions composed of true/false, multiple-choice, matching, and short answer (fill in the blank) questions. There are no questions that require full sentences or an essay answer.  Candidates must obtain a minimum score of 80% on the exam to pass. Candidates who achieve a passing score will be allowed to proceed onto the practical exam.

Candidates who receive a failing score on the exam will have their exams reviewed by the Chairman of Advanced Certification and will be notified by e-mail of their official results after the review is conducted. The exam is designed to be pass/fail and candidates will not see the actual percentage score. For both the written and practical exminations, a second attempt is available. A second failure on the written examination will result in the candidate being removed from the ICMDE certification program and not continuing to the practical phase of the certification process.

What do you need to take the exam:

  • Enough time set aside to complete each segment in the time required.
  • Good internet connection
  • Computer with Moodle compatible browser.

What do you need to take the practical exam:

  • Any forensic tool of your choice
  • Access to Internet with good speed to download image files
  • Moodle compatible browser

What happens if I fail either part:

  • Failure to pass the written exam will result in not being eligible to take the practical exam
  • You may re-attempt the exam for which you did not receive a passing score. A second attempt should typically be accessible within an hour of notification of your results for that exam – though it is recommended that additional review of the subject material be completed first.
  • If you fail to achieve a passing score or complete the exams in the required time frame, you must reapply to take the exam and pay the requisite fees.
  • To re-enter, you must apply to the ICMDE chairman.

Note: Each candidate will be allowed to be re-examined one time without an additional charge. For subsequent attempts the candidate will be assessed the requisite fees as set by the Board of Directors and posted on the IACIS web site. A candidate must complete at least 80% of the initial exam attempt to be eligible to be re-examined.

ICMDE Recertification

The same requirements of our CFCE Recertification apply to the ICMDE certification.
The Recertification Period is open from February 1st through December 31st of every year. Registration will close on December 15th.

The Recertification Requirements are:

  1. One proficiency exercise must be successfully completed in the third year following initial certification or recertification.  The exercise only counts when taken in the final year of certification period.
  2. Previous three years dues paid (if IACIS member), Recertification Fee* paid (if non-Member or delinquent in any previous dues year).
  3. Forty (40) hours of continuing education in the field of computer/digital forensics.
    • Only classes where attendance is documented and certificates issued will be accepted.  No webinars or other undocumented training can be submitted. Certificants must provide copies of completed courses, training certificates, or other documentation to the Recertification Subcommittee when the application for recertification is submitted.
    • Certificants who teach related topics in computer/digital forensics,information technology, or investigations may apply formal classroom hours to this requirement.  The Recertification Committee reserves the right to verify training documented by a certificant.
  4. Certificants must demonstrate that they are working in the field of computer/digital forensics accomplishing one of the following:
    • Completing at least three (3) computer/digital forensic examinations.
    • Supervising or managing a related function
    • Completing three (3) IACIS proficiency tests within three years.
  5. Certificants must read and agree to uphold the current IACIS Ethical Code of Conduct.

The CFCE Recertification provides more details on the Recertification Process. Questions about the ICMDE recertification should be directed to the ICMDE ChairICMDE Certification Chairman: Jung Son